Air travel can only benefit the richest people in the world. The ordinary people can get no advantage with the development of air travel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The Airline industry is thriving in these few decades with more service providers compared with in the past. Some people contend that planes are superior ways of transport, designed for the higher income group, so normal people cannot enjoy the benefits of the prospering airline industry. I partly disagree with this argument. With more companies being established in the world, the competitions between corporations have actually brought the price of flight tickets down in view of the fact that they want to attract customers by cost-efficient services. Normal inhabitants can have opportunities to enjoy cheap flight tickets that they did not have a few decades ago. For instance, HK Express, gaining its reputation by offering low priced, but outstanding airline services, is a very popular airline company in Hong Kong. The token can be as cheap as 1500 dollars compared with Cathay Pacific which charges citizens 3000 for the same distance. As a result, common people can now have more chances to spend their holidays in other countries without paying for expensive tickets. However, some airline companies try to earn more by investing more in the business class, which is a superior service for privileged customers. This action is actually widening the gap between rich and normal people. For example, rich one can have a bed on the airline while ordinary one can only sit in the captivated economic class with their legs bent uncomfortably. In this sense, the development somehow does not benefit the normal but only the rich. Moreover, some corporations, even keep raising their price simply for the reason that they only want to provide services to prestige customers, building their brand as a high class company. Consequently, normal people have less good companies to choose from. To conclude, though the advancement of the airline industry has brought about some companies that only serve rich people, normal people can also benefit from it by having more cost-effective plane services compared with 10 years ago. This explained why I partly disagree with the mentioned argument.