Some people suggest that youngsters should follow the old people but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The way people treat the elderly varies depending on the culture and tradition within a society. Some cultures tell children to look up their older generations as they are more experienced and knowledgeable, while others put younger generations in the centre of attention. This essay will discuss both views and explain why young people should respect and follow old people. Youngsters can learn a lot from their seniors as they have an advanced level of knowledge and skills, which were learnt from their life and work experiences. It is true that in some careers such as medicine and nursing, some people still practice after the retirement age. Younger generations appreciate their expertise in the process of learning new skills and knowledge. Even though the advancement of technology and science has changed the way of medical practice to a greater extent, the philosophy of caring others is unchanged. For these reasons, I believe that the older generation is highly valued and young people should appreciate the advice from them to improve themselves. On the other hand, it is true that elders are overvalued in some cases. While their contributions to the society should be acknowledged, because the world would not have been the same without their hard work in the past, the focus should be our children as they are our future. In actual fact, their knowledge and the way of thinking are sometimes outdated. For example, Women used to stay at home, taking care of house chores in the past. This practice has been changed over the years and it is more common for females to pursue careers like men do. If the elderly advise children to follow the normal practice of their generation, it might not be applicable to this modern world. Thus, their advice is not always valuable. To conclude, while their way of thinking can be outdated sometimes, the value of their skills and knowledge in some fields is highly appreciated. In my opinion, young people can learn from the elderly in many ways, therefore they should respect and follow their advice to improve themselves.