Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

At present, alternative medicines and treatments have become more popular than they were. In addition, people can access more sources of information and some of them believe that visiting doctors in a hospital is not the best way to recover from their illness. Also, some alternative treatments are cheaper than the normal ones. This essay will elaborate on the reasons why I think this is a negative development. To begin with, there are treatments which are developed from local people’s beliefs. Furthermore, there are no scientific evidence supporting the treatments. This is dangerous for patients and there might be negative effects on their bodies. For example, some medicines have not been verified and approved by the government. If the patients take those drugs for years, drugs will accumulate in their bodies. Consequently, the patients will have cancers or other diseases in the future. Moreover, there are many advanced devices in the hospital which can help doctors accurately diagnose patient’s symptoms. Without those tools, the evaluation may go wrong, and diseases are not eliminated. For instance, heart diseases require specific techniques and devices to find the cause of symptoms. It cannot be observed with eyes since blood vessels are small and complex. To sum up, alternative medicines and treatments have many drawbacks. It causes bad effects on the patient’s body if those medicines are not tested, and the diseases may not be cured due to the wrong diagnosis. Those are the reasons why I think that this is a negative development.