Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills. What are the causes? Suggest possible solutions. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Interpersonal skills are one of the critical qualities for the efficient delivery of tasks at a workplace, nonetheless, some employers think new workers do not posses this quality. This essay will explore the causes of this phenomenon and provide some ideas to overcome this issue. Interpersonal and communication skills are critical qualities, which are often addressed as the essential criteria for many jobs. But why people miss this critical component? One of the possible reasons why people miss this skills roots in the tendency to focus on individual abilities and achievement. From entrance exams to school to job-hunting, people have to compete with others to gain a higher position as failing this results in a disadvantaged socioeconomic status in this competitive society. Another potential reason is the altered way of interacting people in the modern world. There are less opportunities to communicate face to face in recent years due to the development of communication technology. People use mobile phones and the internet to communicate with others. These are the possible causes of this issue. One way of tackling this problem is to assess candidates' communication skills when hiring new workers, rather than simply focusing on their academic achievements and qualifications. This can be done by a group interview, where employees can observe the way people are interacting with others. Another solution is to create a friendly environment. For example, group tasks or group meetings can promote communication between workers, thus creating a less competitive environment. While competitiveness is important to motivate workers, creating a friendly and less stressful atmosphere can improve people's interpersonal skills at workplaces. In conclusion, while the lack of interpersonal skills is possibly originated in the change of communication style and the competitive society in this modern world, there are various ways to solve this issue. Companies should examine people's communication skills during an interview and create an environment which facilitates cooperation with others.