Nowadays, we are living in a throw-away society. What are its causes and what are its problems? What could be done to address this issue?

It is true that the modern society is characterized by the high volume of waste production stemming from our ordinary life habits. The people's throw-away culture is being cultivated by the producers of the retail goods searching for high profits; this contributes to our planet's pollution and increases excessive utilization of natural resources. In order to tackle this problem, governments should not only implement financial measures, but also try to change the people's waste habits. While the mass-producers' avarice for profit makes the retail goods cheaper for the customers, it also produces excessive waste materials to rap those goods nicely for the attention of buyers. Levying higher taxes on the packaging materials may well reduce both their production and consumption. For example, the abandoning of the free plastic materials in the European Union led to a considerable reduction in the plastic waste there. In addition to this, imposition of the new taxes on the junk-food products, which are also wasted significantly because of their low cost, would provide further remedies to the problem. Therefore, the authorities should come up with a comprehensive plan of financial measures aimed at more elaborate agenda for the reduction of waste, including both the wrapping materials and the consumer goods themselves. While any fiscal measures are very important, one cannot underestimate the importance of educating people to alter their waste -producing habits. Firstly, governments should legally reduce advertising of the processed food in the media. For instance, acknowledging that these goods bear health problems will substantiate legal ban for their excessive marketing. Secondly, increasing national awareness campaigns to fight waste and pollution, should also lessen the waste. Thus, promoting general waste -free culture among the ordinary people could be another way to address the issue. In conclusion, the waste -producing behaviour dangerously affects our planet and the peoples' lives. Although, we might not feel the high degree of importance of the issue now, we will certainly apprehend it tomorrow if we do not alter this habit. Therefore, measures to restrain the producers from the massive production of both the junk food and the unnecessary rap up materials could solve the problem in the near future.