Some people feel that manufacturers and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. While others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Over-packaging of products contributes to the increasing amount of waste, and this issue should be solved as it causes detrimental effects on the environment. Some people think that the over-packaging should be stopped at manufacturing and distributing stages, others argue that it is a consumer's role to choose products with less packaging. This essay will discuss both views and explain why I think that the responsibility of manufacturers and supermarkets outweighs that of the purchasers. Producers and sellers of the products are predominantly accountable for reducing the packaging of their goods. This is because consumers would not have a choice, if all the products were packaged heavily. Furthermore, if the unpackaged products are cheaper, consumers would choose a cheaper option. For example, people go to a market and buy unpacked vegetables or fruits. They do not mind it because they know that the products are fresh and cheap anyway. Thus, a contribution from manufacturers and sellers is required to give consumers an option at first place. Nonetheless, it is the customers' responsibility to avoid over-packaged products. As it is evident in the recent change of prohibiting plastic bags at most of the supermarkets in Australia, shops are dedicated to reducing waste to some extent. However, some consumers keep buying plastic bags at the counter, or do not care if the products are heavily packaged or not. They should also be considerable of what they are buying and change their attitudes to reduce rubbish. In conclusion, I think while both sides have responsibility to decrease the amount of overly wrapped goods, more cautions should be taken in the process of the manufacturing and selling so that consumers can make a wide choice in choosing products without too much wrapping.