Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Computers have been unequivocally been successful to be the pith of all innovations, human beings have ever done. In the modern era, it is impossible to imagine a life without computers. While the invention of computers has been a boon to the mankind, but at the same time it must not be forgotten that the discovery of computers relied on many other inventions prior to it. On one hand, I agree with the statement in the fact that computers have proved their importance by not only simplifying the day to day activities of people- like keeping of records, data storage and fast calculations, but also emerged as a significant contributor in groundbreaking innovations. For example, the famous problem of the Towers of Hanoi, which was once thought to be impossible to solve, can now be solved using a fast PC. Similarly, the advent of computers has helped humans achieve success in data analytics, development of robots and sending spacecraft to other planets. On the other hand, modern computational technology is highly dependent various other technologies like the microprocessor system. To illustrate, the entire structure of machine learning and man-made intelligence relies on the rudimentary principles of microprocessors, logic and mathematics. The complex calculations for data analytics involves regression model analysis, which in turn requires highly efficient microprocessors and embedded electronics in the computer system. Hence, although computers have been the backbone of several skyrocketing technologies, but there are other technologies which are equal in importance to them. Also, with the rapid pace of their evolution, the underlying processors and data storage technology, for instance, have proved to be far more significant contributors in the technological advancements discussed in the second paragraph, than the invention of the computer itself. Even with computers running with advanced processors, data storage has no substitute. Any data cannot be analysed unless it is stored somewhere in an organized manner - either the cloud or a localised server. Therefore memory cannot be supplanted with any other technology and is another equally crucial invention of the last century. To summarize, computers have unarguably been of great importance to humans since its discovery. Nevertheless, there have been several other innovations like microprocessors, semiconductor memory etc., which have proved to be of equal significance.