Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries. Why are these exams used by schools and universities? What other types of assessment are possible?

System of Formal examination is used by many countries nowadays in order to evaluate their students at the end of every semester. Academic institutions use formal written exams to determine the academic abilities and knowledge of their students on their particular courses. PowerPoint presentations and occasional online quiz can be carried out rather than formal assessment. Educational institutions such as schools, colleges and universities tend to formally examine their students in order to analyse their academic abilities and understanding of their respective subjects. Most importantly, students want to be evaluated to know how well they are progressing in their educational career. In addition, these educational assessments are preferably used by teachers because they need to know the effectiveness of their teaching practices. For instance, as a student, I appreciated knowing whether or not my grasp and understanding of concepts is excellent. It is for these reasons that formal exams are still widely used by schools and universities. Although, Formal academic exams are very effective and practical to measure the performance of students, but there are alternate methods, namely an occasional quiz and presentation to examine the students. These methods can contribute to the development of skills and personality provided that giving scintillating presentations in front of huge audience can boost the confidence of students. For example, many students are very keen to give presentations and online quiz to enhance their educational skills as well as their confidence. Therefore, conducting brilliant presentations and seldom held a quiz whether online or written can be used to evaluate the understanding of students. To conclude, Formal examination systems are used widely by the plethora of educational institutes in many countries in order to evaluate the abilities of their students. Academic organizations use formal assessment to analyse the academic skills, level of understanding and knowledge of their students. On the other hand, there are many other methods which can be used to determine the formal outcomes such as, quiz held throughout the year and conducting seminars.