More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in foreign countries. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the number of students who wish to study abroad is rising every day. Moreover, the growing popularity of the foreign education surpasses threats of a financial burden and other disadvantages bound to this education. In my view, there are more advantages than disadvantages because of the new exposure students get while travelling abroad as well as due to a particular academic knowledge they can get only when studying abroad. Firstly, one cannot underestimate the value of experiencing a life abroad. In addition to studying at a university, a student has to live in a completely new environment with new friends, new surroundings and different habits. While the studies can prove to be very expensive, a foreign experience is so invaluable that it outweighs this disadvantage. For example, the recent survey on the pattern of the students' expenditures has shown that the majority of them prefers to invest in education rather than to other valuables. On the other hand, there is not only a cost bound to the studies abroad, but also a detachment from friends and family members that can really feel the pain. Although, the students obtain a new experience, possibly better quality of life and an access to the academic products of own choice, it is sometimes hard to feel away from home. However, even this aspect can be outweighed by the possibility to find new friends and close ones. For instance, statistical studies show that a third of the students studying abroad remains in the countries of their alma-mater for good, getting married or finding a job. In conclusion, there are of course some disadvantages associated with the studies in a foreign country. As a result, there are more advantages that exceed them and that are more valuable and precious.