*ASSIGNMENT* Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is by reducing the maximum speed limits on vehicles, others think there are other better ways. *Discuss both sides and give your opinion

It is argued by some that critical to ensuring safety on our road is the reduction of speed limits in automobiles, while others are of the opinion that they are many other profitable ways to address this. In my opinion, putting in place punitive measures to reckless driving and ensuring vehicles that are not road worthy are off the road will guarantee safety on the highways. On the one hand, some are of the opinion that reducing speed limits in vehicles will help keep the highway free from accidents as a result of the increasing risk posed by over speeding, which accounts for about 20% of commercial vehicular crash. Drivers of commercial vehicles are always in a hurry to get to their destination in order to make more trips and increase turnover. In addition, installation of a speed limiting device would compel drivers to stay within the approved maximum speed limit. On the other hand, some are of the school of thought that they are other profitable ways to ensuring safety on our roads and I agree. Firstly, putting in place strict punitive measures in addressing issues associated with reckless driving such as driving drunk and making calls while on the wheels will help correct this. Furthermore, putting all vehicles that are not road worthy off the road by ensuring the vehicle inspection officials carry out thorough checks before issuance of road worthiness certificate will guarantee safety. For example a recent survey by the Federal Road Safety Corps revealed that 90% of road crashes in 2016 was as a result of reckless driving and vehicles not in good condition plying the highway. In conclusion, while they are varying opinions as to how the safety of the road can be achieved, I believe that enforcing laws against all offences related to reckless driving and putting off road all vehicles not road worthy will help mitigate this completely.