Many people believe that in order to have clean and tidy streets in their neighbourhood, this should be the residents’ responsibility, while others think it should be the government’s duty. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There have been a lot of debates on who is to manage the cleanliness and tidiness of their immediate environment. Some are of the belief that governments are to be responsible while some on the other hand, belong to the school of thought that the residents are to cater for cleaning the dirt’s in their neighbourhood. In my opinion, I think individuals should be responsible for the upkeep of the residential areas. On one hand, there are responsibilities that individuals need to perform in order to have a healthy and comfortable living. Governments are to provide the basic amenities like water, electricity and also good roads. Healthy life for the citizens should also be of priorities to the governing bodies. For Instance, government should provide a dump stand where all the dirts should be dropped and provide a truck that will be coming to pick them up on a regular basis so as to avoid the dump stand getting full and spilling across the streets. On the other hand, some are of the thought that individuals or residents should be responsible for tidying up their streets which I strongly agree. Cleanliness is a function of individuals. Residents should desist from clogging the drainages especially in some Western African countries with open drainages, by allowing the free flow of water across these channels and also ensure proper disposal of their bins to the dump stands so as to allow government officials to be able to dispose them properly. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinion, I believe the upkeep of our environment should be the resident’s responsibilities and not that of the government.