Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Since science and technology is a growing industry today, some people believe that it is better for college students to choose only related subjects as their major. However, others think that students are supposed to study according to their preference. Making all the pupils to major in science and technology has some advantages. If most students study in related subjects, the industry will consequently have more abundant employees. The employment rating will rise as a result, because students are trained to fit the position. Besides, the technology is certain to rising more quickly, as more workforces join the discipline. Although there might be a number of advantages, some disadvantages should not be overlooked. First and foremost, the well-being of students may be damaged. It is a well-known fact that all people have different innate abilities. Forcing those who are not good at STEM to study in the very field will make them have no sense of achievement, but only rising pressure. Aside from the negative impact on emotional development, a society can only improve if the community is full of variety. The diversity of an organization has been proven to be beneficial, because more ideas can be exchanged, and therefore a more creative environment will occur. Last but not least, a person can contribute the most only when they be put on the right spot and exploit their potential. In conclusion, the disadvantages of limiting students' profession outweigh the advantages. Therefore, it is better for them to decide their own career. Only by doing so can we have a more diverse and healthy society.