TASK Being a celebrity - such as famous film star or sports personality - brings problems as well as benefits. Do you think being a celebrity brings more benefits or more problems?

It is thought that being a popular figure like an athlete or known movie star is associated with problems and gains. In my opinion, despite the demerits like problems with privacy and security, l consider that being a celebrity makes one successful. On the one hand, there are a number of advantages to people being a celebrity. Firstly, it leads to success in life because they are highly recognised in the society. They are given appointments by top renown industries, and this earns them so much wealth to live comfortably. For instance, Dakore the capital and chief port and largest city of Senegal Dakar who is a popular actor in Nigeria, is currently an ambassador with an industry in the country. She has had her so much wealth and fame in the entertainment world. Secondly, they become role models most especially to the youth. Therefore, being a popular figure does benefit individuals. On the other hand, being a recognised person in the society can lead to security problems. These people have difficulty moving about freely with the fear of being kidnapped, and this has made them go to places with security. For instance, Nigerian celebrities in attending occasions with aide to protect them from harm. More so, they do not have their privacy as they tend to be followed by people to get autographs. Hence, being a celebrity could expose individuals to certain dangerous situations. In conclusion, despite the advantages associated with being a recognised member of the society like becoming wealthy, they are faced with dangerous situations and privacy issues.