In some countries, secondary schools aim to provide a general education with a range of subjects. In others, it has a narrow range of specific subjects so students can focus on their future career. What system is more appropriate in today’s world.

In many countries, secondary education system intends to implement a general curriculum which includes a variety of subjects while in other countries, schools have a curriculum narrowed which is carrier-oriented. In my opinion, a wider range of subjects is more suitable and important in modern world. First of all, a wide range of curriculum comes with some benefits. The great advantage of a general curriculum is that children can learn a variety of subjects from which they benefit in their future careers. For example, teaching arts or music improves students’ creativity, and develop decision-making skills and these skills are fundamental requirements of a satisfactory job. In other words, unless arts and music are taught at schools, students would suffer the lack of creativity and would not become good decision makers in the future as adults. Therefore, a wider range of subjects plays an important role in improving their practical skills. Secondly, broaden curricula helps children to choose a right path. How can it help them in this context? A broad range of curriculum provides them with insights about which field is suitable for them as a career choice. For instance, a student, who exposes to a broaden curriculum in school, realizes if he or she shows more interest in social sciences or STEM, and this awareness is entirely important for a successful career. In conclusion, it is a debatable issue whether the curricula are career-oriented or not. In my opinion, a broaden curriculum is useful for students so that they can improve their practical skills such as creativity and decision-making, and choose the most appropriate career path after getting mixed subjects.