In many countries nowadays, consumers can go to a supermarket and buy food produced all over the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today’s globalized world, supermarkets often stock a variety of foods sourced from countries across the globe. This essay argues that the development of the market system is a beneficial thing for people to fulfil their needs and satisfaction related to food. One significant impact for either exporting or importing cuisine from or to other regions is the enrichment of nutrition sources that are different from local agriculture produce. This movement also opens the accessibility of market sharing that leads to promoting the cultural identity of each country. For instance, Indonesia has one of the famous ingredient food called tempe/tempeh which comes from fermented soybeans. This food contains not only macronutrients such as protein but also a lot of other micronutrients that beneficially good for health. The government can help the soybean farmer not only to overcome their financial struggles by supporting them to mass-produce and export the product but also improve the national capital through the activities. On the other hand, South Korea has a traditional cuisine namely Kimchi which is made from fermented vegetables that are also rich in flavour and nutrients that other people from abroad can buy easily through their supermarket. ​ However, exporting or importing can face a negative impact if the policymakers cannot supervise and control in a good way. For example, in Indonesia, if the government does not support the farmer with a good of production material then they cannot produce the tempe and it will ruin the demand in the market. ​In conclusion, I personally agree that these market development bring many benefits to consumers and governments even though there is also a potential risk to have a negative impact.