Some parents do not allow their children to watch TV during school days. Others allow their children to watch TV as long as their school work is finished. Discuss both views

Some children are not allowed by their parents to watch TV during school days while some others are given the complete freedom to engage in TV watching provided that they have completed their school assignments. I strongly agree with the latter view. On the one hand, some parents opt to prohibit their children from watching TV on school days for a few underlying reasons. Firstly, they may end up not being able to control the amount of time they spend watching TV. In that case, it is likely for them to find it hard to focus on finishing their school tasks, which can consequently lead to a poor academic performance. Secondly, because prolonged exposure to TV screen can cause one’s eye vision to deteriorate, some children are restricted to watching TV only on the weekends to prevent such a health risk. Thirdly, some parents feel the need to encourage them to get involved in other activities such as exercising. This can help prevent them from having an otherwise sedentary lifestyle. On the other hand, it can offer a few benefits to children. To begin with, being a great source of entertainment, TV can help them relieve their stress and relax. Therefore, as children immerse themselves in it, it can reduce their physical and mental exhaustion after a tiring school day. Furthermore, they can benefit from a wide range of education programs available on TV, and thus get the chance to broaden their non-academic knowledge. To sum up, I am firmly convinced that the benefits of children watching TV on school days outweigh the potential drawbacks. The risks can be greatly minimized if parents can advise their children to watch TV on school days in moderation.