Nowadays, families are not as close as in the past and a lot of people have become used to this. Explain the reasons for this and discuss any possible effects it may have on society

The relationship between family members has weakened overwhelmingly in recent years and the majority of them have become accustomed to this detrimental change. The main factors behind this trend seems to be people’s busier schedule as well as locating the remained free time for social media. This would in fact have various adverse effects on the society, ranging from losing the support between family members to declining sense of emotions among people. One of the main reasons for losing familiarity in society is that people tend to spend a noticeable amount of time out of home. They are either working endlessly or doing other miscellaneous activities in their spare time such as going to the gym or attending classes. Therefore, not sufficient time remains to be spent with family, which brings about the loss of intimacy in families. Furthermore, many people find computer technology and smartphones so appealing that they prefer to spend their free time on such facilities rather than talking or interacting with family members. This issue not only brings about decreasing the closeness, but it is likely to be the cause of several family struggles. There are numerous negative impacts that loss of closeness among family will give rise to. For one, families have always been known as supporters of each other and when they encounter a problem, for many, the first one to turn to would be a family member. This is particularly true about elderly people who need constant care and support. As a result of the declining close-knit relationships, people are less likely to receive help from family members and therefore are more prone to suffer from loneliness and difficulties in life. A further argument seems to be that when the intimacy fades out in a family, the sense of emotions would start to diminish, as well. This would result in a more aggressive society where people would show less sense of sympathy and Humanity. In conclusion, becoming accustomed to less intimate relationships in families root mainly from not having sufficient quality time with family as well as becoming addicted to social media and computer technology. These factors leave detrimental impacts on Society and in longer term Humanity.