Nowadays more tasks at home and work are being performed by robots. why do you think this is happening? Is it positive or negative development?

Robotics increasingly play a role both in the home and the work place. This is due to the advancement of technology and it should be seen as a positive development because it reduces a person’s workload. People rely on machines because of the latest developments in machine learning. This is because big data and the fact that we all are connected via the internet means that algorithms can learn basic tasks. As a result, software does not need to be programmed but can learn from about millions of other devices around the world by sharing information and teaching one another. For example, Tesla cars now come with autopilot, which drives the car itself and shares the data with all other Tesla vehicles. Automation should be welcomed because it frees people from drudgery of everyday duties. Our day to day lives are dominated by menial, repetitive chores that take up much of our time. Automating these is possible and technological solutions allow us to focus on more meaningful activities. For example, there is now a robot that both cut grass and hoover carpets and the manufacturers estimate that this will save the average person 3 weeks per year. Owners are free to choose what to do with these extra hours instead of being forced to carry out routine work. In conclusion, machines carry out tasks for us due to the fact that engineers and computer scientists are pushing the boundaries of science and engineering, and these innovations should be welcomed because they emancipate humankind from routine toil.