Some people are fond of buying new gadgets, phones, or laptops. Is this a good thing or a bad thing? Discuss your opinion

Owning latest electronic devices has become a trend. It is observed that some people like to purchase latest electronics devices, mobile phone or laptops. In my opinion, this is detrimental to the individual as it might impact their financial stability and personal life. Firstly, any electronic device comes with a hefty price tag. The frequency with which companies launch mobile phones and laptops is frantic. Every single day a new phone or a gadget is launched in some part of the world. People who are fond of buying new products end up selling older products so that they can fund the new purchase. However, as the resale price of these goods is low, they recover only a fraction of the original cost and hence end up putting in more money for purchasing the device. Spending too much money on new gadgets can put individuals under tremendous financial distress. Secondly, the compulsive urge to buy the latest version of gadgets is not good for the environment. When people update the devices frequently, a lot of older devices will end up in landfills. From there they will pollute the land and water. They could even emit harmful radiations. Thirdly, most electronic gadgets have different operating procedures. Hence it becomes essential for the buyer to spend a significant amount of time to familiarize themselves with the new device. This wastes precious time that could be used for other useful purposes. In conclusion, I believe the practice / habit of buying latest devices, mobile phones or laptops has a detrimental effect on the personal life and financial condition of an individual.