Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is it the case? What can be done to attract local people to visit these places?

These days, the most frequent visitors in museums and historical sites are tourists rather than indigenous people. Myriads of factors work behind this situation, which could be resolved by governments and authorities of the cultural sites. To begin with, the local visitors are indifferent to roam around their own historical places as well as museums or art galleries. This is because they find it quite unattractive, since they do not discover any new refurbishments. For example, in Lal Bag Kella, in Dhaka, in Bangladesh, all the sculptures and the ancient history inscribed on the walls have been collapsed due to the absence of modern restoration, which locals, eventually, might think as a waste of time visiting such a place. Furthermore, tourists who do not know about the historical fact of any monuments, they desire to see such buildings, which have historical interests but not the people of residential areas. Therefore, these are the factors which instigate tourists spend plenty of money on visiting ancient places and museums instead of local individuals. In contrast, since local people have no interest in their local art and crafts, governments and authorities should take a necessary step to resolve this problem. Firstly, the bureaucrats of the country have to announce free entry in museums and historical sites in each special occasion. For instance, the national museum of Bangladesh opens the whole day in the holiday when disabled, young and older people come to visit this place so that they gain proper knowledge about history, art, and artistic design. Moreover, the historical places ought to be made an essential change which could, consequently, help to allure local visitors without thinking that they are squandering money. Thus, entrepreneurs can apply these methods to attract local people. In conclusion, foreign people would love to visit the local museums and historical places in the native countries, while local people do not like visiting such places because of boredoms in looking same scenarios, which could be solved by not asking entry fee in parts of the year and restoring the ancient monuments.