Some people believe that children learn better when they are placed in classes with children of similar academic abilities. Others believe that children learn better when they are in classes with children representing a diverse range of academic abilities. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some children at school are more intelligent than others. While some people are of the view that students of comparable academic capabilities should be grouped together, others believe that it is better to have a variety of children in each class and I agree with this point of view. Segregating them into classes helps with group study and more focused tutoring, but it also can instigate inferiority complex in the less capable students. Some people feel that grouping the students with similar brain power in one class can help them learn better. According to this point of view, the teachers can focus more on the weaker students and give them more time. Furthermore, it can also promote group study amongst class fellows. If they are weak in the same subject, for instance, they can help one another by discussing the topics. This way, they can motivate each other and learn better. On the other hand, some people think that students can develop inferiority complex due to the segregation into different classes based on academic aptitude. This is a big problem because this feeling can result in them being resentful of the others. Children, then, tend to grow jealous of the better performing students. Ultimately, fighting and bullying can be a consequence. Therefore, division of students into classes according to their academic performance is not a wise option. To conclude, I think that classes should represent an assorted range of intellectual abilities. If students are stratified like this, some can feel inferior to the others. The outcome is far more detrimental and can in turn have a negative effect on their learning.