Some parents think it is good to give their children mobile phone, while others disagree. discuss both sides and give your opinion.

A few parents are of the opinion that children should own a mobile handset while others have a different point of view. The use of mobile phone by minors have been associated with major academic distractions, lack of family time and other vices, the only benefit a child derives from owning a phone is easy accessible. Hence, I disagree that children be given phones. Children generally lack the ability to be self disciplined and enjoy gratification, thus, get distracted with mobile phone applications, such as, games, pop-up adverts and films. Minors can be on the phone all day long, disregarding the academic work, homework and family time, which would eventually have an adverse effect on the child, such as poor academic grades and obesity. The world health organization quotes, 80% of childhood obesity are due to lack of activity, this is linked to the use of mobile phones. Thus, in my opinion, children should not be given mobile handsets. On the other hand, minors who have phones are easily accessed by family members, relatives, and friends, home and abroad, rather than sending letters which take days to weeks to be delivered. They are able to communicate easily and receive advice in the face of any challenge they face. For instance, a 12 year old cousin of mine, who missed his way back home from school easily reached out to his mother on his phone and retraced his steps. Despite this benefit, I still hold on to the opinion, that children should not be given phones by parents. In conclusion, it is my opinion that children should not have access to phones as their minds are young and not able to handle prompt and accurate decision making. If in any case, a parent decides to give a phone to his or her ward, he must make out time to monitor, supervise and discipline such child appropriately.