People nowadays are used to disposable items meaning that they use things for short time and throw them away. What do you think is the cause of this and what problems can it lead to?

The use of single- use products has become common around the world in recent years. This trend result from that disposable items are cheap, and that the demand for them is high. However, the use of single- use items threatens the environmental problems, including ocean pollution. Disposable items have gained popularity in the modern era. One of the main causes of this is that these items are inexpensively produced, and their prices are affordable for many people. For example, a number of people prefer using the single- use items over durable items, which are relatively expensive. Moreover, the factories largely invest in the production of disposable items because of the growing demand for them. For instance, many factories do not prefer manufacturing non-disposable items. As a result of this, no one encourages people to not use these products, which means a win-win situation. Therefore, the use of single- use items is commonly continuing to be used by people. However, the use of disposable products leads to concerning environmental problems. So, how does the usage of these products affect the planet? Firstly, the single- use products cause the ocean pollution. For example, million tons of single- use plastics are being dumped by humans into oceans. Floating “plastic islands” are the most visible example in the oceans. Moreover, disposable products dumped into the oceans threaten the marine life and the biodiversity of the oceans. For instance, hundreds of dolphins and sea turtles die due to plastic pollution per year, and this destroys the marine ecosystem. Hence, it goes without saying that the single- use items are detrimental to the environment. In conclusion, people continue to use the disposable items because they are cheaper than non-disposable items, and the demand on them are growing day by day. Nevertheless, the popularity of the disposable items is not beneficial for the planet due to that the use of them result in ocean pollution.