Food travels thousands of miles from farm to consumers. Some people believe we should buy food from the local farmers to protect environment and support local businesses. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advent of technology, it has been recorded that, basic needs like foods and clothes are transported from one part of the world to the other. Some scholars hold the belief that instead of this long route transportation it is better to buy food products from local farmers as it assists in protecting the environment and helps to flourish to local business, while other groups beg to differ. In my opinion, disadvantages of transportation of food, instead of buying from local markets, easily outweighs the advantages. Different parts of the world are uniquely blessed in terms of geography. Thus, food that grows in Australia might not be available in Canada. When the option of transportation of food is available, people from any nook of the globe can enjoy the delicacies of other cronies. Furthermore, kids will also have idea about all kinds of food available in the world, thus, their knowledge will not only be limited in the book’s pictures. Nonetheless, long route transport of food requires extra logistic cost, which eventually adds up to the unit price of food. In addition, when foods are bought from local market transportation of the same does not come into picture which not only save transportation or breakage cost, but also eventually protect the environment, as fumes from vehicles is not emitted. Furthermore, when these items are bought from local shops, it increases the economy of that particular region. The rate of increase in employment also comes into play as local business of food supply needs manpower to grow, maintain and sell food to consumers. All in all, the disadvantages when food, travel miles to reach end consumers completely outweighs the advantages as buying food from locally available sources will enhance the sustainability of the environment and boost the regional economy by providing employment opportunities to locals and the exchange of money within the region.