Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce these increasing levels of crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

At the present time crime is a big concern for everyone. It has been noticed that the crime rate is increasing day by day and therefore, some countries are struggling very hard to cope with the problem. Many people are suggesting that there is only one way to mitigate the issue and that is to increase the number of police on the streets. I completely disagree with the point of view because there are other factors to consider as well and this essay will explain the point in detail. A group of people think that increasing the number of law enforcement agents in the field will reduce the crime rate and there is no other way to achieve this. They believe that more police will surely deter the criminals to commit crimes. Moreover, because of the superiority of number, it will be easier to catch the law breaker, if someone breaks the law. Research has also shown that increasing the police forces by twenty percent has resulted in decreasing the crime rate by five percent in New York city within the last ten years. On the contrary, my personal opinion is that although having more manpower will certainly help, it is not the only way. We have to take other factors into consideration also. One of the key factors is the morality of the people, which seems to be decreasing gradually nowadays. In fact, it has been seen that sometimes even the police officers themselves are involved in crimes. Moral teaching starts at the beginning of the childhood and so, it is the foremost duty of everyone to teach the moral values to their children. In addition, justice must be ensured in time. If punishment is not given or delayed, then criminals will continue to commit their heinous activities. A recent study has shown, that in those countries where punishment is given in due time, crime rate is significantly lower. To sum up, it is evident that if we only increase the size of police forces then it is certainly not enough. Additional steps such as, giving moral training to the children and ensuring prompt punishment of the criminals, must be taken so that long term benefit can be achieved.