Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years in the world that many cities now are "one big traffic jam". Do you think that this statement is true? What measure can government take to address this problem?

In the past 30 years, more and more people tended to buy their own car due to the great revolution in the automobile industry and as a consequence of that now the most cities in the world are suffering from the problem of traffic congestion. In my opinion, it is completely true that the traffic jam is emerging as a global problem and it is observed that developing countries are more affected than developed country's. The prime reason behind the rapid increase in car ownership is the affordable price of motor vehicles because nowadays, a middle-class family can easily afford to buy a new car. In my country, most of the bigger cities have a problem of traffic jam and as a result every day, lots of their priceless time are wasted and killed. To address this problem, many solutions can be proposed. Firstly, the government should improve the public transportation such as local buses, trains, and metro as well as try to lower the prices of tickets in order to attract people towards these modes of transportation. Secondly, the administration should spread further awareness about the air pollution caused by cars and other motor vehicles. Lastly, I think the government should impose higher taxes on cars, which make this costly and eventually people will move towards public transport. To conclude, it is undeniable that the problem of traffic jams is increasing day by day because the numbers of car ownership is increasing. But it is high time to take action in order to solve this big problem.