The dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in the society? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today's world of modernization, a section of society considers the human body to be a temple. Smoking is considered to be a filthy habit associated with the various dangers, yet smokers continue to exist. In this essay, I would like to explain various causes behind the rise of tobacco use and suggest methods to tackle this problem at hand. There are 3 major causes behind this trend. Firstly, data suggest that people who are stressed tend to be smokers. The reason behind this is that smoking is considered to relieve stress, but what most people don't understand is that this relief is temporary while the harmful effects are permanent. Secondly, peer pressure is a major reason behind people picking up the dirty habit of cigarette abuse. For example, school students are harming their own bodies to appear cool. Therefore, increasing the number tobacco users. Thirdly, teenagers are resorting to this as a result of boredom. Thus, they are using cigars instead of utilising their time to do productive work. This issue can be tackled using 4 major methods. Primarily, banning smoking in public places is a step in the right direction. As a result, it not only reduces the number of cigarettes smoked by a particular person, but it also decreases exposure to secondhand smoke. Furthermore, awareness about the dangerous exposure of chemicals present in a tobacco product is a need of the hour. This can be started in schools and universities and also extend to shopping malls and marketplaces in the form of advertising. In addition to this, smokers should be encouraged to quit smoking by enrolling themselves in rehab centres and using nicotine gums and lozenges which help during the withdrawal period. In conclusion, I strongly believe that these steps can indeed help us combat the rise in the number of smokers and help us create a smoke-free world in the near future.