With the rise of e-books comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good step forward while others do not. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?.

It is taught by some, that the increasing number of E-books is causing a decrease of Physical Books, and they believe this is a good development; however, others opine differently, they believe it is affecting the reading culture of individuals. Despite the disadvantages of this trend, I believe there are advantages of having E books. To begin with, accessibility is a major benefit E-books offers to people. These days, it is easy to get any type of book online, this is because the internet provides customers with various sites and online stores that sells different categories of reads. With this ease, people can purchase their novels and alternative books online, rather than visiting a physical store, where they might have to go through a long wait and search to get a their book of choice. Additionally, online books cannot go bad or misplaced. Since these books are on the internet and are electronics, they are not susceptible to any physical damage, unlike physical books that can get damaged by water, heat etc. What's more is that, online books can be shared with other people; therefore different people can have the same book at the same time and save cost. This is not the same with Paper books, as one person can only read it at a time or buy. On the other hand, there are also some disadvantages of Electronic- books. The most observed is that, this trend has affected the reading culture of many people, especially the Youth. According to a survey done at the Babcock University In Ghana, 90% of Students who read online, reported that they hardly finish a book. This is because they easily distracted by social media platforms, and also find quite cumbersome reading from their devices, which is not the same when reading from a Paper book. Additionally, the constant staring at computer screens and devices for a long time, have contributed to the increase of Bad Sights in the country. This was reported by the Ophthalmologist Association Of Nigeria. This facts outline the demerits of reading from an Electronic Book. In conclusion, Although people can enjoy the convenience, sharing and long term availability of E books, the disadvantages should also be considered by individuals who use them often.