PEOPLE NOWADAYS ARE NOT FIT AND ACTIVE THAN THE PEOPLE FROM THE OLDEN DAYS. DISCUSS THE CAUSES FOR THIS SITUATION AND SUGGEST SOME POSSIBLE SITUATIONS.

IT HAS BECOME A GLARING FACT THAT AN INCREASING NUMBER OF PEOPLE THESE DAYS, ARE NOT PHYSICALLY AND MENTALLY HEALTHY COMPARED TO INDIVIDUALS FROM THE PAST. THIS ESSAY WILL DISCUSS THE REASONS BEHIND THIS UGLY TREND AND RECOMMEND FEASIBLE SOLUTIONS. THE MAJOR CAUSE OF NOT BEING IN GOOD SHAPE NOWADAYS, IS LACK OF REGULAR PHYSICAL EXERCISE. THIS IS BECAUSE MOST PEOPLE INCLUDING ADULTS AND CHILDREN ARE RATHER GLUED TO THEIR SCREENS WHENEVER THEY GET A HOLD OF SPARE TIME THAN GET UP AND SWEAT OUT BAD FATS. APART FROM THIS, MAJORITY OF THE WORKING POPULATION ARE ENGROSSED IN THEIR JOBS SINCE THESE ARE AVENUES FOR THEM TO EARN A DECENT LIVING. PEOPLE WAKE UP SO EARLY TO GO TO WORK AND DO NOT RETURN HOME UNTIL LATE IN THE EVENING, AND BECAUSE OF THE STRESS OF THE DAY, LACK THE ENERGY AND ZEAL TO EXERCISE. UNDOUBTEDLY, THIS SEDENTARY LIFESTYLE HAS BEEN LINKED TO SOME SERIOUS HEALTH PROBLEMS NAMELY, OBESITY, DIABETES, MIGRAINES, AND STROKE. ANOTHER CAUSE OF BEING PHYSICALLY UNFIT AND INACTIVE IS HIGH CONSUMPTION OF PROCESSED FOODS. GREATER NUMBER OF PEOPLE FIND FAST FOODS CONVENIENT AS THEY DO NOT HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT JUGGLING UP THEIR JOBS AND FINDING THE RIGHT RECIPES FOR FOOD. IN ADDITION, MANY PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT FOODS PURCHASED FROM RESTAURANTS ARE MORE TASTY AND DELICIOUS THAN HOME-MADE MEALS, THUS THE REASON A LOT OF THEM DO NOT BOTHER TO COOK AT HOME. AS EVIDENCED BY RESEARCH, THIS HAS NEGATIVE EFFECTS ON HUMAN BODY. A PRIME EXAMPLE, IS A RECENT STUDY BY JOHN HOPKINS UNIVERSITY WHICH FOUND THAT 68% OF FEMALES SUFFERING FROM FIBROIDS HAVE ATTESTED TO CONSUMING MAINLY PROCESSED FOODS AND LITTLE OR NO FRUITS AND VEGETABLES. DESPITE THE ABOVE-MENTIONED PROBLEMS, THE SOLUTION FALLS, ON BOTH INDIVIDUALS AND THE GOVERNMENT. FIRST, PEOPLE SHOULD LEARN TO TAKE RESPONSIBILITY OF THEIR HEALTH BY PARTICIPATING IN DAILY WORK-OUT AND ELIMINATING THE CONSUMPTION OF FIZZY DRINKS AND DEEP-FRIED FOODS. ALSO, GOVERNMENT SHOULD INCREASE THE TAX PAID BY FIZZY DRINKS COMPANIES AND FAST FOOD OUTLETS. THIS SINGULAR ACT WILL CAUSE MANY IN THIS LINE OF BUSINESS TO SHUT DOWN AND SWITCH TO OTHER BENEFICIAL BUSINESS. IN CONCLUSION, WHILE MANY INDIVIDUALS ARE NOT AS FIT AS PEOPLE FROM DECADES AGO BECAUSE OF LITTLE OR NO EXERCISE AND HIGH INDULGENCE IN TAKING ON-THE-GO FOODS AND DRINKS, IT IS THE DUTY OF THE PEOPLE AND THOSE IN HIGHER AUTHORITY TO EMBRACE MEASURES THAT WILL TACKLE THIS CHALLENGE.