Some people believe that educational success depends on good teachers. Others think that it depends on the attitude of the students. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a contentious debate on whether a student's academic achievement relies on the efficiency of a teacher or on the child's effort itself. This essay discusses both sides of the argument and I will give my own perspective. There are many reasons why a brilliant teacher can contribute to a student's success. The main one is some teachers have gifted talents. They can turn students with low abilities into geniuses. In addition, they can inspire and motivate them to come out of their shell and participate in classes. For instance, my maths teacher was so charismatic that we felt privileged to be in his class. He was kind and patient with all of us irrespective of our backgrounds. Sometimes he would go extra miles to make us understand the logics of mathematics. However, a student's academic achievement depends on the child's efforts, attitudes and dedications in his education. For instance, no matter how good teachers, textbooks and schools can be, if the child does not put enough determinations in his studies, he will never be a high-flyer. Furthermore, different people have different capacities. There are intellectual students who through self learning, can achieve good results irrespective of having good or bad teachers. In conclusion, both sides of the arguments have their merits. However, on balance, I tend to believe that a student's academic achievement is largely based on his personal efforts and attitudes towards his studies. On the other hand, good teachers sometimes, can help lift up low ability students through their teaching skills and talents.