At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large no. of young adults compared with the no. of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

As an introduction, let me start by saying that many countries now have a large population of young adults. While some people think that it is advantageous to have more people who are young, others are of the opinion that there should be a balance between the populations of both the generation. This essay will analyse both the views before arriving at the reasoned conclusion. Firstly, let’s talk about the advantages of having more young adults. There are several merits like the young generation are more creative and productive, which will lead to the growth of the nation in all the aspects like science, technology, business. For instance, a country like India has a large number of young adults and therefore companies here do not face any trouble searching for talented and skilled people for a particular job. In fact, different companies from around the globe come to India for recruitment. Young people are healthier and do not need to spend much on health care. Also, young people can adjust and can think rationally for the development of the country where as for older people, handling a change is difficult. There are some downsides of having young adults as well. One of them is that if the amount of employment in the country is very less as compared to the number young individuals, it will create a huge problem as these people require a job for their living and can’t be depended on anyone. For example, India has a high rate of unemployment as there are a lot of people in 20 to 40 age group. This unemployment can even give rise to criminal activities. To conclude, when we see the positive aspect the young generation can bring to the society it is not difficult to say that the advantages of having young people overweight the disadvantages.