Smacking children is the best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smacking children are becoming quite common in some demographics of the society. These people claim that a physical punishment is an effective way to instill discipline in their kids. This essay will argue that even though smacking children can be a way to teach them, it is certainly not the best form of discipline. Parents have a tendency to teach the best habits to their children, and sometimes they find it easy to use physical power to do so. Hitting children, when they do something unruly, can give them a harsh memory which they tend to keep for long in their lives. Moreover, in a lot of societies, smacking children is seen as one of the most sought-after ways to teach kids, and thus parents continue to do so as they believe that if it worked for them, it would be fine for their children too. For instance, as per a survey conducted in the Indian subcontinent, parents in more than 70% of the families said that they were smacked by either their parents or teachers and they do the same with their children. Thus, the practice is being inculcated in the society as a whole and is being passed from one generation to the other. Despite the fact that smacking a child works to teach them, the idea that it is the best way to do so is quite preposterous. Using physical power over children creates a fear in them, which stops them from trying and experimenting new things in life. Based on a recent study, it also inhibits their normal mental growth. For example, it is very common to see that children who are smacked are very shy, introvert, and reserved. Overall, the idea of hitting children to make them aware is ill-informed as it just hampers their mental growth. This essay argued why smacking children might work in the short run, but is harmful for them in the long run. In my opinion, it is essential for parents to keep their calm when they find their kids doing something unruly rather than hitting them, as using physical power is dangerous for their natural growth.