The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand, it also isolates us and encourages people not to socialise.' To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statements? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The Internet provides a way for people to stay in touch despite the geographical obstacles, however, it also restricts people from socializing by isolating them. This is true as with the internet, we sense the world becoming smaller and easily accessible. While I agree that the internet is an excellent tool that offers connection despite the distance, I feel that people should also be encouraged to go out and meet others and not rely on the internet to be the only source of conversations. If we look at what we can obtain through the internet in terms of communication, it is easy to observe that it has vastly influenced the way people communicate. For instance, before the advent of the internet, communication had to happen either physically or through a letter that was transmitted over many geographical and landscape-oriented hurdles. But now, any message is easily transmitted through the internet and almost all areas of the world are well equipped with receiving and transmitting messages through the internet. This has made such communication easier and has allowed humankind to communicate without any heed to the physical obtrusions. On the other hand, due to the ease and flexibility, people are finding it easier to stay behind an electronic device to facilitate communication and are discouraged to meet face-to-face. Taking an example, while people who are residing in different regions cannot be expected to meet and talk, even people in the same region choose the internet to be their sole medium of connection. This has highly suppressed direct socializing, and harms humankind, as a whole. In conclusion, we can never disagree that the internet is an excellent medium to allow us to connect over long distances, however, people should always be encouraged to meet directly as often as possible. Unwavering reliance on the internet is bound to make our lives, mechanical and will decrease the old-fashioned values that make humankind more special.