Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think that is? What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in the arts?

Though art is seen as a vital part of various cultures across the globe, only a few acknowledge it. However, they shift their focus to the other streams such as science, technology and business. This is probably due to the lack of awareness about the opportunities and preconceived notions about the arts with comparison to other fields. This essay will focus on the possible reasons for one's inclination towards non- art forms and what could be done to promote artistry. Even though, people appreciate the art for its cultural reflection, many of them opt other fields. The main reason is the perceived notion that one has on the arts. Most of them believe that it is not easy to get desired recognition, if one pursues arts as a career option. Moreover, they think that they might not get regular income as they do in other areas such business or technology jobs and due to lack of awareness about the opportunities available to the artists and craftspersons across the world, which turns the focus of many individuals towards regular streams. Even today, many families in South India do not encourage their children to pursue creative courses. Instead, they force them to take up jobs such as engineering, scientists or doctors. In order to encourage people to take up a course or career in fine arts or performed arts, the government should introduce art classes right from the lower level of education. They should educate children about various art forms and opportunities available to all the artists all over the world. Also, it should encourage the younger generation by offering scholarships, creating platforms to showcase the talents, organise events and so on. Many western countries introduced art classes at the school level itself and children are given freedom to choose according to their interest. Even families should encourage their children to take up such courses. To summarise, if the government takes up an initiative to promote the arts and encourage younger generations to take up such courses, people would definitely opt arts.