Some people think that a car is the best way to travel in cities while others believe a bicycle is a better way to commute. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While it is sometimes believed that cars are the best means of transportation in urban areas, other people think that using bicycles are more beneficial. In my opinion, I consider that moving about with a bicycle is better, as it promotes a healthful environment. On the one hand, those who think that commuting with vehicles in municipal areas is more useful, might argue that this can result in less traffic congestion. This is because with car pooling, several persons are able to move from one place to another using a single vehicle, thus leading to reduced traffic. For example, recent research by the University of Ibadan has shown that sharing rides in Lagos, a populous city with over 62% working population, led to a reduction in the occurence an event that happens occurrence of traffic jams by 21% between 2009 and 2017. On the other hand, others suppose and I agree, that cycling is preferable because it can help to keep the earth healthy. The reason for this is that, since fuel such as petrol or gasoline is not used, no toxic substance like carbon is released into the air. Rather, in the process of riding, humans burn out excess fat and release toxins from their bodies, thus making for healthier cities and fitter people. For instance, the United Nations published a report in 2016 which shows Barbados to have the cleanest air of all the cities of the world, because its residents use cars less frequently, and cycle more. In conclusion, although it is argued that moving about by car benefits city people, I believe that cycling is a superior mode of transport as it ensures a healthier world.