Some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organized group activities in their free time. Others say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer And include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Parents want the best for their children, as a result, they often advise children to make use of their free time. While others believe that the best plan of action is for young people to occupy themselves on their own, I would argue there are more benefit to be had from participating in communal activities. Firstly, juveniles who occupy their own time are more self-reliant. As a result, they are given the freedom to explore and learn at their own pace. This in turns provides free thinkers and sometimes leaders. On the other hand, this sometimes creates selfish children, who are unable to see beyond their own wants. For example, children who always get what they want, do not like hearing the word no. Secondly, I would argue that children participating in group activities build character. They gain a better understanding of the world and unlike the opposite are able to learn from others and see the importance in sharing. Such as, children can assist in elderly homes and benefit from interacting with members of the older generations. Moreover, group activities give children the opportunity to foster meaningful relationship and develop skills that can be used sooner or later. For example, when I assisted in a soup kitchen for the helpless and soon after I used the same knowledge gained to prepare the same meal for my sick aunt. In conclusion, it is up to the parent to decide the best plan of action to be done in regards to their children. But I believe participating in a group activity is more impactful and helps the child to be more rounded as an individual.