Some governments say how many children a family can have in their country. They may control the number of children someone has through taxes. It is sometimes necessary and right for a government to control the population in this way. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer.

The government of any country owes her citizens an overall duty of protecting their interests. This is why they were elected into office in the first place. A family, which makes up part of the country, equally owes its country some reasonable measure of responsibility in ensuring good and smooth governance. Having established the symbiotic relationship between a government and a family, it is imperative to succinctly examine one of the ways by which the government provides for the needs of her citizenry. One of the means is through payment of tax. Tax is the money paid on income generated over a particular period of time. It is usually deducted monthly. The major ideology behind its payment is to develop the country. It is one of the several revenues a country has. It is calculated based on a particular percentage. The higher your income, the higher your tax! It's been laid down in such a way that it is fair and crosses across both the upper and lower classes. In a family of four, which consists of father, mother and two children; if the father pays a third of his salary as tax, and his wife pays an amount close to his, that cuts down on their income for the month. This is an income that is not ordinarily enough to cater for the entire family before tax. This would help the family plan their lives better. For instance, in Nigeria, the highest number of children expected of a couple is four. Looking at the instance of the family cited above, since their incomes are taxable, thereby reducing their income for the month, they would have to think twice before they could plan to have another baby because, the cost of catering for a child, from the point of conception to the legal age of eighteen, when the child could fend for himself or herself, can be jaw-breaking! Usually in Nigeria, which is the case study here, an average parent would fend for their children till they graduate from a higher institution of learning. There have been cases where children who lacked the basics of life turned out to be louts. They fended for themselves from an early age in life, wandered around the society and eventually, some of them, due to peer pressure, gave way to criminal activities and ended up as menace to the same society. I can recall vividly, a girl of sixteen, who lacked parental care due to financial constraint, went into prostitution in order to make ends meet. She later contracted HIV, spread the disease unknowingly and increased the number of people living with the virus, which is against the goal of the Nigerian government in the fight against the spread of the virus. This would of course cost the government more money in the sensitization exercise, prevention and treatment of HIV. Aside the above, as the number of citizens increase, so does the expenditure of the government. There would be more money to allot to each sector of the economy to ensure citizens are well taken care of. You cut your coat according to your cloth. When the expenses of a family is 'curtailed' through tax payment, it becomes logical for them to engage in family planning, so they can birth only the number of children they can reasonably cater for. In conclusion, I strongly agree that the government should control the population through the number of children someone has by enforcing the payment of tax, although, that may not be the only way.