The world of work is rapidly changing, and employees cannot depend on having the same work or the same work conditions for life. Discuss the possible causes and suggest ways to prepare for people to work in the future.

The advancement of technology and science has revolutionised our lives significantly in recent years. It is said that the working environment and types of work available to humankind will not be the same in the future as an increasing number of jobs are getting replaced by robots and artificial intelligence. This essay will discuss the causes of this phenomenon before providing the way to accommodate anticipated changes in the workplace. The increasing number of jobs which do not involve complex tasks and human intelligence are being replaced by computerised machines due to time and cost effectiveness. For instance, many Australian supermarkets have introduced automated paying stations, which do not involve human workforces. This system can operate around the clock, and it does not require breaks or holidays unlike human labours. Moreover, the system maintenance fee is much cheaper than hiring, training, and keeping the human workforce; therefore, supermarket companies can save money and time by using such machines. People should prepare for these changes by equipping necessary knowledge and skills as most of simple tasks will be carried out by machines and robots in the future. First of all, schools should educate children and young people about expected changes in the working situation and make them prepared for it. In fact, current school curriculums started including subjects such as computer programming and computer science. This is beneficial for future workforces, provided that the majority jobs will be related to handling computers, while fewer physical labours are available to humankind. In conclusion, the types of work available to human beings will be changed considerably owing to the introduction of artificial intelligence and robots in the workforce, aiming for the time and cost reduction. People should prepare for this change by obtaining relevant computer skills and knowledge through school education which reflects the ever-changing working situation.