It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour for children?

It is argued that children at a young age are supposed to be taught how to differentiate right and wrong and the key factor helping them obtain this lesson is punishment. I personally favour this idea for some following reasons. In addition, I would like to suggest some other feasible types of punishment that can be used effectively by parents and teachers to form a good manner for children. In the first place, being able to recognize what is right or wrong at such young age is of paramount importance for children. Children when become old enough to be aware of what they see around will likely to imitate those, no matter they are positive or negative. Especially nowadays, there are countless of sources of information that can lead to misleading imitations among children as they are now easily accessible to those due to the advancement of social media. Therefore, adults need to help them distinguish the good and the bad. This life lesson will be effectively taught by imposing punishments on children whenever they do something wrong. By doing so, children will be well-aware of the fact that if they misbehave again, they will be suffering from these punishments. Since punishment is crucial in forming the personality of children, the way adults punish must be taken into consideration. In this case, positive punishments are probably more effective than negative ones. For example, if a child misbehave and his or her parents apply a physical punishment by hitting the child with a tool, for instance, then the child will probably become hateful to everything around and continue to make mistakes, not to mention any health-related problems the child might suffer. By contrast, some positive approaches have proven effective. For instance, if a child does not do homework, so parents can punish them by not cooking dinner for him or reduce his playing time during a day by one hour. This will likely change the attitude of the child and hopefully he will do his homework next time. In conclusion, the distinction between the good and the bad is important, especially among children and punishment is considered a good method to teach them this lesson. Also, there are many positive ways to shape a proper behaviour for children, making them into useful adults later on.