many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people however think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is true that the development of a country can be showed through many ways. While most governments believe that economic progress is the major mark of success, I would argue that there are other important areas to be developed that will demonstrate, in the long-term, how a society is wealthy and progressed. There is growing evidence that the economy has become pivotal to measure success in a society. Terms such as GDP (gross domestic product) and interest rates are part of people’s lives. For instance, when GDP rises and interest rates go down, individuals begin to consume more, which increases, therefore, the GDP. However, when there is an economic crisis, people stop to consume, leading to a substantial fall in the local GDP, which will discourage even more the consumption. As a result, local economies will shrink with a trend to evolve to the deficit. This is something highly desired by any country. On the other side, there are a number of aspects that should be taken into consideration when thinking about society progress, such as public health and children's education. Those topics are extremely important to measure people’s well-being in the long-term. To illustrate this point, Japan is a good example to be cited: Japan was in a deep financial crisis five decades ago, when the government had decided to invest in child education; nowadays, Japan is one of the most developed countries in the world and illiteracy rates are almost zero. By investing in these areas, authorities are thinking of an improvement for the future generations. In conclusion, although the financial system plays an important role to make a country wealth, it is not the only aspect that should be taken into consideration. In my view, education and public health are as essential as economy and, they are responsible for our next generations’ well-being and development.