Trying to save endangered animal species from extinction is a waste of valuable resources. Do you agree or disagree?

The issue of whether we should attempt to save endangered species from extinction or not is certainly a contentious one. Despite the arguments of some people that such animals serve no useful purpose and should be allowed to die out just as many others (including the dinosaurs) have in the past, it is my personal belief that they should in fact be preserved. Two of the principal reasons for this are as follows. Firstly, it is vital that we appreciate the importance of endangered species on maintaining the balance of nature. Ecosystems are delicate arrangements where plants and animals all depend on each other for survival. The disappearance or introduction of any animal species disrupts the balance and negatively impacts upon other plants and animals by breaking the food chain and altering the habitat in which they live. Such imbalances frequently returns to haunt us in unexpected ways. Just as rabbits that were introduced to Australia soon after European settlement now compete with native species for food and destroy farmer’s crops, the extinction of a predator can cause plagues by following its prey to multiply unchecked. Therefore, since ecological change constitutes a potential risk to us and our environment, it is clearly in our own interest to protect endangered species. Yet, perhaps the strongest argument in favour of preserving endangered species is that all life has intrinsic value; even if endangered species are not useful to us in any practical way they should be preserved nevertheless. Further, given that humans are responsible for destroying the natural habitat of many endangered animals, we should make every possible effort to save them. In conclusion, i once again restate any view that saving endangered species is worthwhile. Not only do they help to maintain balance of nature, but they also have value in and if themselves.