Some people fear that technology is gradually taking over control of our lives, while others think that it has led to many positive developments in all aspects of our lives. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Some would argue that humans, these days, are being controlled by technology, while others say that advancements in technology has greatly benefited humankind. Although recent developments in science and technology has adversely affected the employment rate, I believe it has helped people form new acquaintances. On the one hand, incorporation of electronic equipment, be it robots or advanced machinery, have severely impacted the job vacancies. Having got the state of the art production or testing machines the need to have manual operations- unlike the past- is becoming redundant practice. As a result, many job aspirants- despite having potential skills- are left unemployed and existing jobs are also jeopardised. This automation can usher in continuous production without halting, barring occasional services, has provided an opportunity to employees to make their workplace automated- replacing the workforce by machines. The layoff 2000 employees at Maruti Suzuki's production plant in Gurugram by the introduction of robots bears testimony to this. On the other hand, modern gadgets are assisting people to strengthen their family bonds and form new ones. These gizmos help to contact not only their immediate family members, but also to become friends with new people. The Internet, for instance, has transformed the whole world into a global village and individuals and now are exploring new people and broadening the horizons of knowledge about the culture of other people. This transformation has eradicated the previously existed biases on the basis of caste or religion making countries multicultural. In conclusion, while modern technology breakthroughs handmade many people jobless and threatened the existing jobs, it is certain that these developments are assisting people to socialize.