More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

Many companies nowadays are promoting work from home as part of their company policy. There are many who believe that, such trends can have a negative impact on the organization's culture, others argue that, it will lead to better work life balance and job satisfaction. In this essay, I will discuss both arguments, and put forth my view supporting the latter. Many employers believe that, working from an office is very important part of the organizational culture, and it will lead to productivity improvement among employees. This is because, working from an office will lead to better collaboration between employees and this will help in getting work done more efficiently. For instance, a research conducted on the topic of "collaborative work place" found that, when is comes to quick decision making within an organization in person meetings are more effective than remote meetings. However, in big cities like Bangalore, commuting to work takes up a lot of time and this has led to employees working longer hours, which ultimately affects their work life balance. For instance, a 10 KM drive from north Bangalore to IT hubs situated in the southern region takes almost two half hours one way, hence to compensate the lost time, employees need to start very early or work longer hours. Moreover, with the advent of high speed internet and radical improvements in video conferencing technologies, it has become much easier to take up remote meetings. To sum up, I believe, nowadays with the advancements in technology, it has become much easier for employees to work from home and be as productive as working from an office.