Some people choose to eat no meat or fish. They believe that this is not only better for their own health but also benefits the world as a whole.

Some people believe that it is essential to abstain from eating meat and fish to protect our health and furthermore, ensure the world's environment is kept safe. Although I agree that it is unwise to eat excessive amounts of meat, nature has its rules which cannot be changed by people’s eating habits. Humans need to obtain important proteins contained only in animal flesh and fish that supports us to live, proteins which cannot be found in vegetables or fruits. Obviously, we cannot live a healthy life without fat derived from, for example, beef or pork. Besides, nowadays most edible meat comes from domestic livestock reared exclusively to provide food for people, so it does not affect the balance of nature. The natural food chain would not be harmed because of our normal diet. However, it is also reasonable for us firstly, to ration our consumption of food obtained from animals. It is a well-known fact, eating less meat and more vegetables are highly beneficial to our health. We can get balanced nutrition from different varieties of food. Of course, we must consider some people kill precious species for high sums of money, for instance to satisfy the needs for certain mixtures of traditional medicines as well as for dinner tables. If more people want to eat rare mammals and sea-life, then these creatures would face the risk of extinction, if that were to happen, there may well be a chain reaction which could result in serious damage to environments around the world. In conclusion, we do not need to refuse meat or fish, but reduce and alter our diets. Eating them within a limit is the best way to improve our health and general being, and also, as I have mentioned above, we ensure that nature in the wild is protected.