Many people want their country to host an international sporting event. Others believe that international sporting events bring more problems than benefits. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Over the past few years, there is a great competition to host international sporting events. These events, typically, are held every three or four years and a large number of people travel across the world to support their team during the event. While a sizable number of people believe that the price involved in hosting such events is worthwhile, but others claim that it could have dire consequences and perhaps not every country should try and stage international sporting events. There are some arguments in favour of hosting international sporting events. Firstly, the host country is in the limelight in the world and can enhance their image, and in turn benefit from the potential tourism industry. Mega sports events attract a vast number foreign visitors, which promotes retail trade and boost the economy. For instance, in the Football world cup event that was held in 2018, tourists who were coming to the host country spent a sizable amount of their money on accommodation, travel, entertainment and foods, which means that it has generated more revenue for the local businesses and for the government through taxes. Secondly, people who live in the host country that are influenced by highly publicized events are more likely to take part in sport on a regular basis. Therefore, this happen is beneficial for both society and individuals. Furthermore, since the host country need to modern and equipped sport facilities, it is a big chance to renovate infrastructure and build the arenas. On the other hand, the major argument against hosting international sporting events is financial. Hosting events like the World Cup may result in the country incurring huge debts. Indeed, the money spent on state-of-the-art stadiums and arenas would be better spent on education programs, welfare and health services. In addition, if the event is not well organized are more likely to the image of the host nation would be tarnished. To sum up, it is an honour for a country holding an international sporting event and would have its own positive and negative sides. In my personal opinion, I believe that the benefits of hosting the event are greater than the drawbacks.