Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people ate only the local food produced by farmers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With a growing network of supermarkets, consumers can find a large variety of edibles imported from various parts of the world. There are people who opine that consuming only locally grown food is beneficial for the environment and the economy. I do agree with this view to a certain extent. However, if people limit themselves to locally produced food, they will have very few options. The environmental problem is a highly debated topic these days. Huge amounts of fossil fuels are burnt during transportation of food to distant places, therefore, causing a significant damage to the global environment. Nonetheless, it can be diminished by a large amount if people preferred to consume locally produced eatables. Another benefit of this could be the availability of more job opportunities, which consequently increase the country’s monetary growth. For instance, demand for locally grown vegetables could encourage farmers to recruit more people in order to increase crop yield. Hence, switching to local products could prove beneficial to the environment and the economy. Nevertheless, eating only local dietaries is not a viable option. Especially in areas where crop production is very low and limited to few varieties. Furthermore, limiting to locally grown products may leave us in the dark in terms of various cultures and their dishes. For example, a master chef is expected to cook various cuisines from all corners of the globe, which is highly impossible if they restrict themselves to local ingredients. Hence, the people should be open to imported foodstuff, at least from a few different places. In conclusion, if people give preference to locally produced food it is beneficial for environment and economy. Although, in my opinion, it is not a viable option as it would seriously limit the food choices people have.