Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

First impression plays an important role in analysing one’s character.Some people believe that they can learn a lot more details about a person’s behaviour and culture from the clothes that they wear. This essay will discuss the reasons which cause people to behave and think that way and why I disagree with such instant predictions. Generally, there is a wide spread stereotyping associated with the way someone dresses. This is driven by what everyone subconsciously perceives in the real world and what is projected on them. Furthermore, people generally believe that someone wearing a formal suit is a professional and can be trusted in their work. Mainly, this stems from their exposure in the real world. For example, professionals in the banking industry are always seen wearing suit and are considered to be responsible individuals. Also, doctors need to be dressed professionally to gain trust and confidence fro the patient. So these factors superficially make people believe that they could tell someone’s character and culture from the way they are dressed. The choice of one’s dressing greatly depends on various factors and their lifestyle. It is highly influenced by the place where they are living and not by the character, work and weather forces them to wear certain type of dresses. For example, someone living is a cold place like Canada would prefer to wear clothes that are warmer and this has nothing to do with their character or culture. Furthermore, certain job demand them to be dressed in a specific way. One clear example is, a doctor need to be dressed professionally to gain trust and confidence of their patient. In conclusion, Work and place of living mainly drive the choice of dressing and does not reflect a person’s character or their culture. Hence, I completely disagree with the assumption that one’s culture and character could be predicted from the way they dress.