Many foods are shipped far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think advantages outweigh its disadvantages?

Nowadays, a large number of countries export food and food products to other countries. A lot of people believe that it is more economical and environmentally friendly to eat locally grown foods. In my opinion, consumption of locally grown foods is not only safer for individuals, but also cheaper for local farmers to produce. Firstly, local foods are cultivated without using organic substances like fertilizers so they still retain their essential nutrients whereas, most of the imported foods have been genetically modified thus lost essential nutrients that are needed for total well being. Also, a lot of these imported foods have been discovered to trigger life threatening diseases. A good example of this is a class of foreign rice known as plastic rice that has been known to increase the risk of cancer in people that consume them. In addition, the cost of processing and packaging farm products to prevent them from getting spoilt a narrow strip of land that juts out into the sea spit on transit, is not affordable for local farmers. Most of them can only afford the cost of transportation of their crops to the nearest market for sale. These farmers will be happy and feel rewarded for their labour, if their farm produce is patronized and consumed locally. In conclusion, not all farmers can afford the high cost of processing their farm produce for exports and would rather prefer these crops be consumed locally. Also, community members should enjoy eating their local foods as they have been known to be more beneficial health wise than the imported food products.