Some people think that the best way to increase road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving cars or riding motorbikes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people contend that the most appropriate method to rise the safeness on roads is restrict the lowest age by law to drive vehicles such as cars, whereas others argue that there is another efficient way to increase the security on the roads. While I accept that increasing the minimum age for people to drive cars to some extent, I believe that there are other beneficial ways to reduce traffic accidents for road safety. On the one hand, I agree with the idea that raising the lowest legal age is the best approach to decline transportation accidents for some reasons. The young drivers are likely to drive cars with high speeds. For example, in Japan, people can get driver licenses when they are over 18 years old, 18 years old drivers tend to drive with so high speeds and their drivings are so dangerous. Thus, if they cannot drive cars because of the new law in terms of the minimum driving age, the roads will be safer. On the other hand, I am convinced that away from restricting the driving minimum age, there are several more efficient ways for road safety. The chief method lies in reducing elderly drivers to reduce transportation accidents. For instance, in Japan, the most reason why traffic accidents happen is old age drivers. Another significant way is to raise the difficulty of exams to obtain driver licenses to decrease traffic accidents. For example, Japanese people can take a driver license for only 2 weeks, including paper tests and actual driving tests, and then about 95% citizens have it. If these tests become more complex, the population having driver licenses will decline and also the restricted population will have better driver skills; as a result, road safety will increase. In conclusion, in fact, I agree that increasing the minimum age to get driver licenses is one efficient approach due to above reasons to some extent. However, personally, I believe that reducing old driver ’s population and increasing the difficulty of driver ’s license exams are more beneficial methodology to reduce transportation accidents.