Some countries have come up with law to restrict the working hours of an employee. What is the reason for this ? Is that positive or negative ?

Optimization of working hours has always been challenging for the Human Resource Departments across the globe. In the world of “Hard workers and Smart workers”, it is indeed challenging to decide the standard working hours for the employees. However, many developed countries consider limiting working hours to boost their employees' performance. This essay sheds some lights on various reasons behind such movement and its possible outcomes. Firstly, “All work and no play, makes Jack a dull boy.” An employee’s wellbeing plays a major role in the performance of an organization. Many researches have proven that overworking employees having inadequate personal time, lack physical activities and sleep due to which they are often lethargic, tedious and sick. In Contrary, balanced workers are found to be healthy and energetic at their workplace. For an instance, the Scandinavian countries such as Norway and Sweden have six hours a day working policy to encourage workers' physical fitness and have witnessed a positive growth. Secondly, a happy and healthy employee is an asset to any company. Workers lacking personal time and social time are very prone to anxiety, stress and depression which hamper their deliveries at work. Furthermore, they are less likely to take any challenging role as they tend to avoid risks involved with it. Adequate rest has always proven to boost employees' efficiency at work. To exemplify, Japan Microsoft has introduced four working hours a day policy which profited them by 40% in a quarter. In conclusion, an optimized working hour gives workers a good breathing space, which motivates and energize them to perform better every day. Hence, by limiting working hours seems to be a win-win situation for both the organization and its employees.